top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture婷崴 楊

Chapter 8. Uka in Paris

Before the trip to Paris, I watched some YouTube videos and read the traveling blogs to know more about this city. Some Taiwanese YouTubers and bloggers all agreed that France are one of the most dangerous and smelly(?) countries in Western Europe. I did not want those negative comments of France to spoil my plan and mood. But I just could not stop but be concerned of something bad might happen there.

It is no exaggeration to say that I felt extremely tense, being so alert to the surroundings when we arrived at the airport, Charles de Gaulle (CDG). And it suddenly struck me that there was a deadly terrorist attack in Paris in 2015. “Hey, girl! You are here to enjoy and experience a new city. Stop thinking those terrible things!”, I told myself.

When I was still processing my anxiety, we arrived the hotel. While doing check-in procedure, the counter staff kindly reminded us to be careful of the pickpocket and robbery. “That’s good to hear!”, I thought with eyes rolling back. (If you have read chapter 6, you would know I was threatened by Mother Nature in Norway. But, I was not sure which was scarier, the intensity and powerfulness of nature in Trolltunga or the bad public security in this big city. Mother Nature or human beings, which one should I be more aware of?)

Luckily, Bob Lin was by my side. Since we were in Paris, it was time to turn on our tourist mode and explore the city. We sauntered along the streets and suddenly walked on a bridge. The Seine River was there! One of Jay Chou’ songs, Love Confession, was shot here along the river! As a big fan of Chou, I also imitated the scene in that music video and did my own version of the song. Then we(or say, I) pranced towards Eiffel Tower, which is the most emblematic sight in Paris. In front of the Eiffel Tower was a large lawn, and people were sitting there and having wine and champagne. Everyone was so chilled. It was almost sunset. Eiffel Tower was soaking in the yellow orange sky. It was so fantastic and romantic to see such a scene.

In Paris, Bob Lin and I really turned on our 100-percent tourist mode no matter how afraid and insecure I was. (I mean, compared to the time when I was in Norway- I was semi-local- but here I was a totally foreigner) We visited those famous places, such as Musée du Louvre (we did not go inside because there were so many people waiting in line to get in), Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris (we did not go in either, yup, because it was burnt badly on an accidental fire few months ago before we went there), Arc de Triomphe, and Les Invalides.

It was so exciting and unrealistic to see all those historic sites on the textbook in person. However, the most exciting was not the sites, but the food. I am literally a person travel for food. After roaming on Avenue des Champs-Élysées for a while, we saw Five Guys. I have been eager to eat at Five Guys! I was so happy and satisfied with a hamburger in my left hand, coke in my right hand and fries in my whole mouth. Eating is the most blessing thing in the world. (Let’s forget about the calories at this moment.)

“Roland Garros, here we are!”

As big fans of tennis, how could we miss the tennis season in Paris? Watching the big four tennis tournaments in person is the highest pleasure as tennis fans. About two months ago, Bob Lin asked me if I wanted to go to Roland Garros. “Yes! Of course!”, I screamed excitedly. He booked two tickets and even picked a day that was very close to my birthday. (He said it was my birthday gift! How sweet!) When I was at junior high school, I started to watch tennis with Bob Lin. I have been watching tennis for almost ten years. My favorite tennis player is Novak Djokovic, though he is the most disliked tennis player. (idk why)


I was thrilled and gleeful when we were waiting in line to get into the venues. It was so exhilarating to see thousands of energetic tennis fans gathering, cheering up for this grand event in full swing. “Simona Haleps! Come!”, shouted Bob Lin. She was practicing on the mini show court. Next, we spotted Ostapenko Jelena, who was also practicing on the court nearby. “My life is completed!”, said me with a big, shining, satisfied smile.

There are several types of tickets. The ticket we bought was at the afternoon at Court Philippe-Chatrier (Yes, the center court!!!) The players that were scheduled to play were Rafael Nadal and Kei Nishikori. Rafael Nadal, people call him “King of Clay”, is one of the Greatest of All Time (tennis term). He has won 11 Roland Garros before. All tennis fans were waiting for him to claim the amazing 12th RG victory. (FYI, he did it!)

The moment when Nadel walked on court, everyone was electrified. It was a dream-come-true moment to see Rafa playing on the court in person. However, the game was not really exciting. On one hand, Kei was not at his best status. One the other, Nadal was so powerful, solid and aggressive as usual. So, the game did not have ups and downs. It was like a show to be honest. I almost fell asleep in the middle of the game. Suddenly, it started to rain so heavily. The game was forced to suspend for more than an hour. Then, the sun was out and shining again. The game resumed. The whether was so unpredicted, but not the game. Rafa finished off the game very quickly and easily, dismantling Kei in just one hour and 50 minutes, as the audience expected.

Though the game was a little bit tedious and being interrupted for more than an hour due to the inclement weather, it was the most unforgettable and precious experience that I have ever had (as a big tennis fan)!

Games on the next day were all cancelled due to the lousy weather again. We were so lucky that we bought the ticket on June 4th. (Thank you Bob Lin!)

It was my best birthday gift ever!





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page